Change language to Change language to Spanish

About Me

I was born in the early 80s in a small town in the South of Spain: Jaen, a city known mainly for being the capital of the biggest olive oil producing region in the world.

Picture of the Cathedral of Jaen, taken by Alicia Lopez

Here I began studying Computer Science at the University of Jaen. I also studied as an exchange student in Lens (France) at the University of Artois and at the University of Texas at Austin (United States).

Although I tried to focus my career towards Web programming, I began working at a job for the local government of Jaen as a C/C++ software developer for almost two and a half years, participating in projects of development and maintenance of the region's tax software system. Upon concluding this job, I departed for Austin.

While studying at UT, I gained experience in Web technologies and databases, working as a Senior Student Associate at the IT (Information Technology) Services of UT, for which I developed small Web projects among other duties. After finishing my studies, I interned for 10 months at IBM, where I worked more closely with Web technologies and databases.

After returning to Spain to complete my Master's in Computer Science, I moved to New York City to begin working for a company that develops Web applications for different universities in the United States and Great Britain, and continued later this work back from Austin.

One of the reasons to move to Austin (the most important) has a name: Jill. This beautiful Texan and I got married on Bastille Day 2012, and moved to a new house in the Austin area.

I currently work for Hewlett-Packard as an IT Engineer, collaborating in a couple of projects with a really diverse team: India, Singapore, Germany, Mexico, United States... talk about globalization!

At the same time, I spend my time developing "fun" projects: a little bit of jQuery plug-ins, a little bit of HTML5 programming, some drawing with GIMP, a little bit more of mobile development (using Web technologies)...

In my spare time, I like to read, watch movies, and draw. (I was cartoonist for 9 months for The Daily Texan.) I also enjoy meeting friends and family and exploring the city and its surroundings... I often don't have time for this personal Web site, a project that was on my to-do list for several months... Now that I have started, I will try to keep up with writing, coding, and updating.

Thank you for visiting, and enjoy!